Guess What I’m Reading

You know I think about food a lot, right? Lately, my thoughts have been in overdrive…need to eat more locally produced things, I love oranges but the big bags aren’t organic and they’re shipped so many miles, I love bananas but they’re big gas-wasters, this meat is probably laced with antibiotics, how can I learn to garden without reading anything or putting forth a lot of effort, are these potatoes organic…and so forth.

Last night, I dreamt that I was at a small farmer’s market with only around 4 vendors. I made a point to buy something from everyone (which wasn’t too difficult since there were only 4 stands), including bell peppers, some sort of pickled vegetables, tomatoes, and more bell peppers. When I arrived to my dream-home, I found eggplants everywhere – in drawers, in cabinets, on the countertop.

Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegatable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life is starting to overtake my brain.

Leave a Reply

