Little Victories

I spent a good part of the last two work weeks tracking down a problem…the problem being that we owe nearly $18,000 to a travel agency.

While I won’t go into the boring details, I want to stress that I did a lot of work on this whole situation: paperwork, emails, phone calls demanding answers, and phone calls calming down the travel agent. We reached a resolution last week, which resulted in duplicate paperwork this week.

When I saw the extra paperwork, I thought, grumbles! But, by good fortune, I learned yesterday that someone else would complete the paperwork! Finally, for once, not me.

Today I sent the person in question an email with needed information. I closed by asking for confirmation that this person would indeed complete the work.

This resulted in a phone call during which the person said, “I was going to do blah, but if you want to do it, you can.”

I responded with, “Well, if you’re super busy, I can do it. But, you know, it isn’t as though I really want to do it.”

Then the other person replies, “I can do it, but I’m just saying if you need to do it today, you can. It might be a few days before I can do it.”

And then I realize, you know what, I am not going to capitulate on this. The other person’s department is responsible for this situation, so no way.

Instead of following the script the person wanted, the one in which I volunteer to finish the damned paperwork, I said, “That’s fine. It doesn’t have to be done today.”

What? Is this a backbone I see?

2 thoughts on “Little Victories

  1. Alison says:

    Haha. I read this and was like “Um, what extravagant trips were Carrie and Porkchop going on?” And then I realized you were talking about work. Ha. Good work!

Leave a Reply

