Spring Dreams

It’s that time of year when I start vegetable garden dreaming. This year, I’m going to rein it in a bit and keep things simple. Because, let’s face it, small realistic dreams will be more successful.

Here’s what I’m thinking:

  • A maximum of five tomato plants. Two roma, one black krim, one sungold, and one something else.
  • Two red bell pepper plants. Seedlings will be purchased from the farmers’ market because that was the only one that survived and produced last season.
  • Four basil plants. I’ve been enjoying the pesto I made and froze over the summer, so lots of basil is a must.
  • One butternut squash vine. The hard work will be convincing Porkchop that one vine won’t take over the entire yard.
  • Sugar snap peas. We will purchase or build a new trellis for these.
  • Black beans. These will grow on the pea trellis once the heat kills the peas.
  • Lettuce greens and spinach.
  • Radishes.
  • Thyme and rosemary.
  • Strawberries and blueberries.

My big dream would be to install a wall of herbs (something like this) in a doorway that we never use (just as we have two front doors, we have two back doors). But…that might be too much work for now.

Last year, I put in a lot of hours in our community garden, and I really suffered burn out from it. Given my time constraints and studying duties, I am reluctant to sign on for it again. I would do it if I could have just one plot, rather than everyone working on the entire garden. Also, if the garden had its own water spigot, I would be in for sure. The current water situation (calling a neighbor to turn on their water) is rather inconvenient.

What are your garden thoughts?

One thought on “Spring Dreams

  1. I’m so impressed I can’t stand it….Gardening at all will depend on whether I take summer term…and then, I am unlikely to do food, only flowers. I tend to be too busy for veggies, my partner was raised with about 20 acres of gardening and subsequently hates every minute of any kind of “yard work” so I’m on my own. I feel guilty if I let food die, but not so much if the flowers die, LOL. The only hope for me gardening would be no summer term…and one nice tomato plant…because, and I sound so old when I say this but….tomatoes don’t taste like they did when I was a kid. They taste like water. I miss good tomatoes…so maybe, just maybe a tomato plant. I’m happy to live vicariously through industrial folk like you…

Leave a Reply

