Carefully Laid Plans

…unravel so easily.

When I set out to pick up prerequisites for physical therapy programs, I did it with such enthusiasm and gusto. I looked at various prerequisite lists and saw what I was lacking and thought, this won’t be so bad! I can do it! And apply for Fall 2012! YAY, only two more years at my job.

I told people, lots of people, my plans. I’ll be in a program in Fall 2012!!! YAYYYY!

Only, now I’m starting to consider the details of the DPT programs, and there are big holes in my plan.

By talking with admissions reps in a couple of programs, I realized that Mizzou had a stupid chemistry sequence when I was an undergrad, and I didn’t have all the topics expected in a Chem 1-2 sequence. So I need to re-take Chemistry 1 and 2.

The chemistry news killed my soul a little, but it’s nothing compared to what I’m learning now. All of those classes I took as an undergrad that I thought I could use towards prerequisites – general biology, general psychology, calculus, all of my biological anthropology classes – won’t count. That’s right, all of my gazillion credits of general education classes won’t count. Because they are apparently old and ancient. While not widely publicized on their websites, it seems most programs have a time limit on prerequisites: they must be taken within 5, 7, 10 years.

Even if I use the most generous time limit, my classes don’t count.

This means starting from scratch, and I’m rather saddened. No, I’m a lot saddened. This means another year at this stupid job, another year of waiting around to start what I want.

And it means telling people, yeah, when I said Fall 2012, I didn’t know what the hell I was talking about.

Major grumbles.

The good news is that I have lots of time to collect my 100 volunteer hours now. But that’s the only positive I see. Throw me a bone if you have one to add.

10 thoughts on “Carefully Laid Plans

  1. Suzi says:

    Okay. So, your plans have been delayed.
    This sucks. However, you would be in the program in 2012 if you could – so don’t feel like you aren’t meeting your words.

    You are doing great. You are going to breeze through a few more pre-reques and get going with your life. Just think of the next year or so as “coasting” time. You will need it . . so enjoy it.

    *hug*

  2. bek says:

    Hey Carrie – sorry to hear about the setback! If it’s an unraveling, think about it as tinking rather than frogging :) You’ll appreciate the refresher once you start the DPT classes – everything is covered so quickly. A few of my med-school classmates used ‘old’ prereqs and really struggled when we did those topics. Best of luck!

  3. Alison says:

    It means more time earning money instead of bleeding it as a graduate student! More time to financially prepare for being in a professional program and what that means for your family’s finances.

    • carrie says:

      Very true and very practical! Waiting another year will mean our car will be paid off before I enter the land of no salary, I can save more, and get some more matched money into my IRA. (What? Did I just write IRA? When did this turn into a financial blog?)

  4. Porkchop says:

    Well, at least you’ll get to start school waaayyyy before I’m allowed to go to Disney World again.

    And now you have more time for babies.

  5. Holy smokes, that IS discouraging! Much of life lately seems to need to be prefaced by something along the lines of “because nothing can go simply…” or “because I really needed one more sucky thing to happen”….

    Chin Up Carrie…it’ll all get done. :)

    • carrie says:

      I was a bit “woe is me” last week! Once I let go of the “need” to apply to schools this summer, I found that I’m looking forward to having time to take more biology classes. Taking an extra year will definitely put me in a better position when I apply to schools, and I don’t have to stress out so much!

Leave a Reply

