The Last Few Hours

…of summer freedom.

Summer school starts today, and I will be in Microbiology from 5-9:30 on Monday and Wednesday nights. I’m trying to work up enthusiasm for this, but I can’t gather any.

Tuesday of next week, I’m slated to take the GRE. Again, no enthusiasm to be had.

To make up for the buckling down that begins today, I tried to fill the weekend with summer fun. Luckily, the weather was all about cooperating and gave us lovely cool days.

Saturday was the farmers’ market with yoga and good food stuff. I made these rosemary almond crackers and nearly cried when I had them with quark. Finally, grain-free, sugar-free success! And super tasty!

Almonds, rosemary, and olive oil. Pure tastiness.

Tears, I tell you.

Cracker with quark. So good!

Even though strawberry season is over at Eckert’s, I managed to snag a quart of berries at the market. Once I was home, I blended them up with plain yogurt and popped them into popsicle molds that Porkchop picked up for me. Do you know how hard it is to find frozen treats with no sweeteners whatsoever? Sure, you can find sugar-free stuff, but I would rather go without than consume aspartame or sucralose.

Instead, I’ll stick with the homemade stuff.

A frozen bar I can trust.

With Sunday came tennis, lunch at the Mud House, and getting the hail damage on our car estimated and settled.

I’ve also been knitting away on a baby present! It’s going to be pretty darned cute, and I can’t wait to finish and post a photo.

Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “The Last Few Hours

  1. I need ratios. How much yogurt/berry? If I had my way, I’d eat nothing but popsicles all summer.

    Also, I don’t know what quark is, but I’m going to find out. Marcoot Creamery is da bomb and I’m vending at TGFM next weekend, they’re usually there. I also highly recommend the cheese curds or “squeakers” as they call them up north! YUM!

    • carrie says:

      I think I did a 4:1 ratio, but I’ll probably do more berry next time. I also put in a splash of milk to make it a bit more liquid-y. This is definitely a trial-and-error process, but the errors won’t taste horrible. :) I’m looking forward to melon season and watermelon and cantaloupe popsicles!

      Quark is deliciousness. Definitely try a sample next weekend!

Leave a Reply

