Doing Things

Yesterday, I nailed down my academic reference for my OT application. Yep, I’ve decided to apply to the OT program here at Washington University. While I know it’s best to apply to more than one program, I’m not prepared to up and move in the fall. So we’ll see what happens.

Since my initial email request went unanswered, I ambushed my anatomy professor before class yesterday. Being back in the lab room made me feel so happy, and the professor and TA talked to me as though we had just seen each other yesterday. Anatomy lab was such a great class; I miss it all the time, but especially when I’m in physics.

Securing this final reference boosted my mood so much, I was a whirlwind of activity last night. I did things like block a scarf, cook dinner and prepare lunch/dinner for today, run two loads of laundry, mop the kitchen floor and dining area, run/walk 2 miles at the gym, and knit. And that doesn’t include the usual stuff of scooping litter boxes and doing my PT exercises. It was a very productive evening!

Now I just have to get serious about writing my statement of purpose and tying up some other application-related loose ends.

Knitterly Things

The knitting front has seen lots of activity recently! Most notably, I finished my Daybreak!

Off the needles at La Dolce Via

More Daybreak

I’ve since blocked and worn the shawl, and I really need to take another picture of it.

This yarn became a simple ribbed cowl, which I also need to photograph and post.

Smooshiness

Finally, I’m blocking my Interlocking Balloons scarf right now. Some alert readers might recall that I finished knitting it in January 2009. In the post documenting its completion, I noted that I started the scarf on “November 7, 200-freaking-7.” Quite tellingly, I elaborated, “For quite some time, I was convinced that this would be my perpetually unfinished object….Now I just have to block it, and that, my friends, will require blocking pins (which I don’t have).”

While I received blocking pins with my blocking wires last year, I just now blocked the darned thing. FOUR YEARS AFTER STARTING IT. That’s simply ridiculous. I will wear it this year!

Running Things

Readers might also recall that I started the C25K program at the end of the summer. I loved it, I really did. I worked my way up to running 15 minutes straight through, and I felt great.

Except for my left hip. Running for a 15 minute block crushed it. I was in pain for 3 weeks.

I laid off the running until I could go for most of a day without my hip reminding me of that run, and now I’ve started back from the beginning. While I won’t be able to progress as quickly as the program recommends, I will reach that 5K mark someday! Right now I’m back to running blocks of 1.5 min, and giving my hip time to strengthen and catch up with the rest of me.

Food Things

Porkchop and I hosted a pre-Thanksgiving dinner, and it was probably the best dinner we’ve ever hosted. All of the food was spot-on and delicious!

Porkchop and I have a series of Thanksgiving photos just like this one:

I could do without this part of dinner preparation.

These are the items Porkchop and I made:

Alien vegetables

I hope we can do it again next year!

Anyway, that’s a wrap. Have a great week!

9 thoughts on “Doing Things

  1. Yay! Yay for finishing unfinished projects and yay for making decisions and feeling perky. Please god, don’t ever post a picture with your hand up a bird’s ass again, though. I almost passed out. I can’t even been in the same room with a rotisserie chicken.

  2. bek says:

    Whoa! I remember that scarf – Congrats on finishing it! And on your application as well, best of luck :)

  3. I was dizzy. I couldn’t make out the parts. I was too distracted by it’s lack of head and your hand in/up it. Can’t all meat be boneless and nugget shaped? You’re very brave. I shall call you Carrie vs. Wild, henceforth.

  4. Suzi says:

    Mmm! Dinner was delicious!

    If only my years of hosting Pre-Thanksgiving could have held a candle!
    We all enjoyed it! Thank you so much for all of your hard work!

    . . . next up: Festival of Lights!

  5. 13projects says:

    I am not sure I could have a project on the needles for four years. I’m too obsessed with frogging things if I don’t finish them fast enough–I get all critical of the pattern. Excited to see your FO!

    • carrie says:

      Well, the scarf was actively on needles for two years, and then it hung in my closet unblocked for another two years. That’s the most ridiculous part, I think. Why couldn’t I get over my laziness and just block it?

Leave a Reply

